The President and Vice President are full-time executives appointed for a period of seven years; the other nine Directors, including a Chairman and Vice Chairman, are appointed for periods of three years and may serve two consecutive terms. The President is the chief executive of the Corporation and, with the Vice President, is responsible to the Board of Directors for the conduct of the affairs of the Corporation. As the chief executive, the President receives, interprets and applies the policies and directives of the Board of Directors and establishes administrative and operating policies to control the activities of all operating units—English Networks, French Networks and Regional Broadcasting (headed by General Managers) and the International Service (headed by a Director) and of corporate staff departments, i.e., Programming, Personnel and Operations, Corporate Affairs (headed by Vice Presidents), Engineering and Technical Services, and Finance (headed by a Director and a Comptroller).

In practice, a general division of work between the President and the Vice President has been arranged whereby the attention of the President is primarily directed at the broader operating and administrative policy fields including reporting on activities to the Board of Directors and the conduct of relations with Parliament, the Board of Broadcast Governors and the public. The Vice President assists the President in his role of chief executive by assuming primary responsibility for the current operations of the Corporation.

The Corporation's Head Office is situated in Ottawa with Headquarters for English Networks in Toronto, for French Networks in Montreal and with Regional Headquarters in St. John's for Newfoundland, Halifax for the Maritime Provinces, Winnipeg for the Prairie Provinces, and Vancouver for British Columbia. Headquarters for the Northern and Armed Forces Services is in Ottawa and for the International Service in Montreal.

Canadian Commercial Corporation.—This Corporation was established on May 1, 1946 by the Canadian Commercial Corporation Act (RSC 1952, c. 35). It purchases goods and commodities in Canada for the governments of other countries. It also acts as their Canadian agent for international agencies such as the United Nations International Children's Emergency Fund and the United Nations Korean Reconstruction Agency. Other functions include arranging production and shipment of Canadian contributions of military stores to NATO countries. The Corporation also serves other departments of the Government of Canada. For instance, it arranges for the purchase and production of supplies and services which the External Aid Office is making available to other countries under the Colombo Plan. In carrying out its functions the Corporation works closely with the Department of Defence Production. It is responsible to Parliament through the Minister of Defence Production.

Canadian Maritime Commission.—This Commission was created in 1947 by the Canadian Maritime Commission Act (RSC 1952, c. 38). It considers and recommends policies and measures necessary for the operation, maintenance, manning and development of a merchant marine and a shipbuilding and ship-repairing industry. The Commission administers the Ship Construction Assistance Regulations established by Order in Council P.C. 1961–1290 passed Sept. 8, 1961 and the Canadian Vessel Construction Assistance Act (RSC 1952, c. 43). It also administers steamship subsidies voted by Parliament. Other functions include advice to other government departments on their shipbuilding requirements, consultation with the Department of National Revenue in the administration of the laws relating to the coasting trade of Canada and the co-ordination of the overseas movement of men and material for the Department of National Defence. It has responsibility in international matters relating to merchant shipping, such as NATO, IMCO and other international bodies. The Chairman has the status of a Deputy Minister and the Commission reports to Parliament through the Minister of Transport.

Canadian National Railways.—The Canadian National Railway Company was incorporated (SC 1919, c. 13) to operate and manage a national system of railways, including the Canadian Northern Railway System, the Canadian Government Railways and all lines entrusted to it by Order in Council. In 1923 the Grand Trunk Railway Company of Canada was amalgamated with the Canadian National Railway Company and since 1923 a number of railway lines acquired by the Government have been entrusted to the Company for operation and management, including the Newfoundland Railway and steamship services in 1949, the Temiscouata Railway in 1950, and the Hudson Bay Railway and the Northwest Communication System in 1958. The Canadian National Railways Act, 1919 was repealed in 1955 and the Canadian National Railways Act (SC 1955, c. 29) substituted therefor.

The Canadian National Railway Company is controlled by a Chairman and Board of Directors appointed by the Governor in Council, who report to Parliament through the Minister of Transport.

Canadian Overseas Telecommunication Corporation.—This Crown company was created on Dec. 10, 1949 by Act of Parliament (RSC 1952, c. 42) to acquire for public operation external telecommunication assets in Canada, in keeping with the Commonwealth Telegraph Agreement signed May 11, 1948. This Agreement was designed to bring about the consolidation and strengthening of the radio and cable communication systems of the Commonwealth. The Corporation is responsible to Parliament through the Minister of Transport.

Canadian Patents and Development Limited.—Canadian Patents and Development Limited is a Crown corporation established in 1948, pursuant to authority granted in an amendment to